Why trailers can not be trusted

So, you see a trailer for a new film that you’re really excited to see, and god-damn does it look good. This film will be amazing right? I mean, the trailer say’s so! It has to be! But then it hits you… suddenly you remember the trailer for Pearl Harbor, and how good that looked – and then you remember the actual film Pearl Harbor, and what a pile of shit that was.

what a load a bull

Admittedly, the trailer was probably only so good because Ben Affleck was only in it for like 2 seconds.

Trailers are great, but they are also the worst things on the planet, because it’s basically their job to mislead the audience into thinking that every film is good. Because of this, I have a real hard time trusting any trailer, no matter how bloody amazing it is. I guess this sort of makes me a pessimist, because no matter how good a trailer looks, I will not let it convince me that the film will be good. The glass is most definitely half empty.

This is quite apparent with Only God Forgives, because if you remember Refn‘s last film, Drive (Who the hell doesn’t?) you should probably remember the trailer was misleading as all hell. Drive was a slow paced, art-house flick for people who love cinema – not Fast and Furious 6 starring Ryan Gosling, which obviously the trailer had a hard time swallowing.

lele

“AW YEAH, ACTION! DRAMA! YEAAAAHH”

See, when someone comes up to me and says “Have you seen the new trailer for *Insert generic movie title here*?! It looks amazing!” I have a tendency to point them at the trailer for Drive or Pearl Harbour and scream “Readjust you’re god-damn expectations!” A trailer is not evidence that a film will be good, it’s basically just some marketers saying “Yeah, it’s good.”

If I made a film, and thought to myself “JESUS, this is a terrible movie, nobody will want to watch this movie.” my first plan of action would be to make an amazing trailer to at least rope in a few viewers, before word gets out. So whenever I see a movie trailer that is almost too good, I immediately assume this is the reason, because I am a totally well adjusted human being like that. For real.

With films like Only God Forgives, however, I do let myself get hyped up. Not because of any awesome concept art or trailers, but because I know Nicolas Winding Refn is a good director, and is capable of making a decent movie. If I saw the exact same trailer, but the film was directed by Michael Bay, I’d probably not even take a second glance. Maybe it’s because I am biased, maybe it’s because I dislike Michael Bay, maybe it’s because my power of deduction is great enough to understand that a clip that has the sole purpose of making you pay to see a movie, regardless of actual quality, may not be 100% honest.

But that’s just me. Just a pessimist.

Here are a few movies to back up my point (Courtesy of CraveOnline.)

Image 1 Credit
Image 2 Credit
Banner Image Credit

5 responses to “Why trailers can not be trusted

  1. Pingback: Mine is half-full and I wish you the same | Daily Prompt: The Glass | Kaleidoscopic World in Words·

  2. Pingback: The Glass Is Half Empty | The Sexy Cynic·

  3. Good article! I hate those g.d trailers that insist on including every last decent inch of watchable footage! I, much like your-self, not only mistrust trailers, but hate them almost as much as my movie going colleagues that hype the living *&^% out of everything. How in hell can every single release be the “Must See” event of the decade?

    • Tell me about it, I have many friends who get totally excited about everything that gets released, and are almost always disappointed. I learnt my lesson about trailers with The Pink Panther, the trailer made it look hilarious, but even the clips they showed in the trailer seemed a lot less funny when actually in context in the film.

      I basically refuse to watch trailers now, unless I’m (uncharacteristically) really excited about an upcoming film.

What do you think? Leave a reply.

